Upcoming Webinars

See below to find upcoming webinars from The Arc's FASD Prevention Project, and from partner organizations.

Implementing Alcohol Screening & Brief Intervention into Primary Care: Experiences among Three CDC-Funded Grantees

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

7:00am-8:00am (Hawaii)

9:00am-10:00am (Alaska)
10:00am-11:00am (Pacific)
11:00am-12:00pm (Mountain)
12:00pm-1:00pm (Central)
1:00pm-2:00pm (Eastern)

To convert the webinar time to your own time zone, we recommend you using this website: http://www.thetimezoneconverter.com/

About the Training: Practical experiences associated with the implementation of alcohol screening and brief intervention (SBI) into routine health care are often understudied and underdisseminated in the research literature. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) developed an implementation guide outlining useful steps to integrate alcohol SBI into clinical practice settings. Three Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Regional Training Centers (FASD RTCs) across the U.S. were funded by CDC to pilot implementation of alcohol SBI into multi-site primary healthcare systems. Pilot sites located in Alaska, Nevada, and Tennessee included three health systems across ten clinical settings.

The purpose of this webinar is to highlight key aspects of the alcohol SBI implementation processes that were unique to each party involved in the pilot testing and resulted in important lessons that are applicable for others implementing alcohol SBI. Attendees will learn about available resources and receive practical recommendations that will increase the likelihood of their own success integrating routine alcohol SBI into clinical settings. 

Presenters: Elizabeth Dang, MPH - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Sandra Gonzalez, MSSW, LCSW - Baylor College of Medicine
Joyce Hartje, PhD - University of Nevada, Reno
Becky Porter, MS, LPC - University of Alaska Anchorage

Contact Hours: This webinar has been approved for a total of 1.0 contact hour through the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC). Certificates indicating the number of contact hours earned are issued to all participants at the end of the training via e-mail; certificates are sent out 7-10 days after the training has concluded. 

Cost: FREE



Healthy Baby, Healthy Life: Provider Perspectives and Roles in Addressing FASD

September 9, 2015 Time: 2:00pm to 3:30pm Eastern

The SAMHSA FASD Center for Excellence will host a free Webinar on September 9, 2015 for the 16th annual International FASD Awareness Day. The Webinar will consist of a facilitated panel discussion with a diverse group of service providers. Topics will include effective prenatal and post-natal care, FASD prevention for pregnant women and women of childbearing age, and assisting individuals in treatment who may have an FASD. The Webinar will include a Q&A session open to participants.