NCE logo

2016 Award Winners

The Arc’s National Convention is the setting for recognizing those among us who represent the best of the core values of The Arc and NCE. Executives of chapters of The Arc have been working feverishly all over the country to make America a better place to live for people with cognitive, intellectual and developmental disabilities, along with their families, friends and communities.

The National Conference of Executives of The Arc (NCE) confers four awards annually to those among us who represent the best of the core values of The Arc. The NCE Award Program recognizes the awardees for their outstanding efforts to fulfill the mission, core values and position statements of The Arc.

Begun in 1980, the program honors the professional excellence and achievement of NCE members and those persons outside the membership who make significant contributions on behalf of our constituency.

Rising Star Award

Kimberly McCarten, President & Chief Executive Officer, The Arc of Palm Beach County, FL

Program Innovation Award

Nancy Murray, President, The Arc of Greater Pittsburgh at ACHIEVA, PA

Diversity and Cultural Competence Award

Peggy Terhune, President/Chief Executive Officer, The Arc of Stanly/Monarch, NC

Outstanding Professional Achievement Award

Marty Rothwell, Program Director, The Arc of Sedgwick County, KS

Lifetime Achievement Award

Adrian Esposito, Filmmaker, Espocinema, NY

Executive Excellence Award

Jon Meyers, Executive Director, The Arc of Arizona, AZ

Exemplary Career Leadership Award

Stephen H. Morgan, Executive Director, The Arc Baltimore, MD

Special Thanks to the 2016 NCE Awards Committee:

  • Randy Costales, Awards Committee Chair, The Arc of New Mexico, NM
  • Tim Hornbecker, NCE Steering Committee Chair, The Arc Alameda, CA
  • Kim Dodson, Executive Director, The Arc of Indiana, IN
  • Deb Seman, Executive Director, Arc Opportunities, IN
  • Chris Stewart, President/CEO, The Arc of Jefferson County, AL
  • Dan Stewart, President/CEO, Achieva Resources, IN


View past award winners