HealthMeet®

Recent News Update:
Nearly half of all adults with disabilities get no aerobic physical activity. Read more in the CDC’s Vital Signs: Physical Activity is for Everybody.   


HealthMeet® is a project of The Arc and is supported by Grant/Cooperative Agreement Number 5U59DD000993-02 from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for a grant award of $938,745.

HealthMeet® leverages its national network of more than 700 Chapters, national disability organizations, public health systems, health professionals, university systems, and other key stakeholders to reduce health disparities and increase the longevity and quality of life for people with intellectual disabilities (ID) by providing free community-based health assessments and individualized recommendations for follow-up care. Assessments will focus on general health and body composition, vision, hearing, oral health, foot care, respiratory health, mental health and lifestyle factors such as diet and nutrition, physical activity, substance use, and access to health care.

HealthMeet® will also provide training and education for individuals, their families, direct service professionals, medical providers, and medical students and will raise public awareness of health issues that impact people with intellectual disabilities across the country.

Find out more about HealthMeet's services and why it's needed.

For More Information

Contact Us for more information about HealthMeet®

Ann Cameron Williams, Ph.D, Senior Executive Officer, Research and Innovation, Williams@thearc.org

Karen Wolf-Branigin, Senior Executive Officer, National Initiatives, Wolf-Branigin@thearc.org

Liz Mahar, Program Manager, Individual & Family Support, Mahar@thearc.org

Kerry Mauger, Training Coordinator, Mauger@thearc.org

Jennifer Sladen, Program Manager, National Initiatives, Sladen@thearc.org

Casey Nitsch, Proposal Manager, Nitsch@thearc.org

Robert Lutz, Research Associate, Lutz@thearc.org

Get Involved

In addition to The Arc's work with HealthMeet®, we are involved in several additional initiatives which may be of interest to you.

*HealthMeet collaborates with other organizations and professionals to deliver webinars and written materials. Points of view or opinions, therefore, do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the HealthMeet project or The Arc of The United States. Every effort is made to provide accurate and current information. However, due to updating cycles and the nature of the resources offered, some errors or outdated information may occur. Users of this website have the responsibility to verify the accuracy, currency and completeness of the information contained.